Our Team

Center for Civil and Human Rights

The Center is led by a dynamic group of local and national civic and business leaders. Together, they monitor our growth and progress.

  • Derreck Kayongo
    Derreck Kayongo Chief Executive Officer

    Derreck Kayongo is the Chief Executive Officer of The National Center for Civil and Human Rights, Inc. He and his family fled a civil war in Uganda and settled in Kenya as refugees. He then found his way to the U.S. where he became a successful entrepreneur as the founder of the Global Soap Project, a program which takes partially used soap from hotels, recycles them into new bars of soap, and redistributes the new bars to vulnerable populations around the world.

    Kayongo has been featured as a TEDx speaker and at several corporate and university forums. He recently coauthored, “The Roadmap to Success,” with Dr. Deepak Chopra and Dr. Ken Blanchard. Within this work, Kayongo focuses on Understanding the Instructive Power of Failure When Building Successful Ventures.

    Kayongo has also been a guest on several news programs including the Christiana Amanpour Show and BBCs Focus on Africa. Currently he’s at work on a new book, scheduled to be released in 2016, that focuses on how he found his calling in life as a former refugee.

    Kayongo is a graduate of the prestigious Fletcher school of Law and Diplomacy at Tufts University.

    • Adrienne White
      Adrienne White VP of Finance

      Adrienne A. White is the VP of Finance of the National Center for Civil and Human Rights. She comes to The Center from The Coca-Cola Company, where she had eight years of Corporate Finance experience. She started her career in Ernst & Young LLP’s external audit services.

      “Give. Serve. Love,” is White’s personal mantra, which she embeds into her professional, civic and personal life. She has taken on numerous leadership roles within the Atlanta community, including an APS Charter School, political organizations, Black Girls RUN!, Outstanding Atlanta, LEAD Atlanta, and New Leaders Council.

      White is a licensed certified public accountant in the state of Georgia and RRCA certified running coach. She earned her Masters of Accountancy and Bachelor of Science in Commerce; Concentration in Accounting from The University of Virginia

      • The Honorable Shirley C. Franklin
        The Honorable Shirley C. Franklin Purpose Built Communities

        Board Chair

        • Derreck Kayongo
          Derreck Kayongo National Center for Civil and Human Rights

          Chief Executive Officer

          • Lawrence Ashe, Jr.
            Lawrence Ashe, Jr. Parker, Hudson, Rainer & Dobbs LLP

            Senior Counsel

            • Barbara Balser
              Barbara Balser Owner of Balser Enterprises
              • Tom Bernstein
                Tom Bernstein President & Co-Founder of Chelsea Piers Management
                • William Clarskon, IV
                  William Clarskon, IV
                  • Virgis Colbert
                    Virgis Colbert Retired Executive Vice President of Miller Brewing Company
                    • Richard Deane, Jr.
                      Richard Deane, Jr. Partner-in-Charge of Jones Day
                      • The Honorable Andre Dickens
                        The Honorable Andre Dickens Council member of the City of Atlanta
                        • Curley Dossman, Jr.
                          Curley Dossman, Jr. President of the Georgia-Pacific Foundation
                          • Aine Duggan
                            Aine Duggan President of Re:Gender
                            • Dean Eisner
                              Dean Eisner
                              • Katie Fahs
                                Katie Fahs Marketing Consultant
                                • The Honorable Kwanza Hall
                                  The Honorable Kwanza Hall Council member of the City of Atlanta
                                  • Ingrid Saunders Jones
                                    Ingrid Saunders Jones Chairperson of the National Council of Negro Women
                                    • Edward Montag
                                      Edward Montag CEO of A. Montag and Associates
                                      • Sunny K. Park
                                        Sunny K. Park Chief Executive Janitor of General Building Maintanence, Inc.
                                        • Egbert Perry
                                          Egbert Perry Chairman and CEO of Integral
                                          • Deborah Richardson
                                            Deborah Richardson Executive Vice President of The National Center for Civil and Human Rights, Inc.
                                            • A.J. Robinson
                                              A.J. Robinson President of Central Atlanta Progress
                                              • Glen Rollins
                                                Glen Rollins
                                                • Stephanie Russell
                                                  Stephanie Russell
                                                  • Doug Shipman
                                                    Doug Shipman Chief Executive Officer of BriteHouse
                                                    • Frank L. Sims
                                                      Frank L. Sims President of Fisk University
                                                      • Michèle Taylor
                                                        Michèle Taylor
                                                        • Paul Viera
                                                          Paul Viera CEO of Earnest Partners
                                                          • Alan Wise
                                                            Alan Wise Senior Partner and Managing Director of The Boston Consulting Group
                                                            • Christopher C. Womack
                                                              Christopher C. Womack Executive Vice President & President of External Affairs of Southern Company
                                                              • Andrea Young
                                                                Andrea Young

                                                                Start typing and press Enter to search

                                                                CALL FOR

                                                                OPEN MON-SUN

                                                                $18.25 ADULTS